Gut Check Time

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wikipedia describes an impulse decision as “An impulse purchase or impulse buy is an unplanned decision to buy a product or service, made just before a purchase.”   The decision to upgrade my bike may not be totally impulsive but is was close.  There are many positives to working part-time at a bike shop but there are a few negatives also.  One is access to a bunch of bikes to constantly drool over and work out insane justifications for purchasing them in your mind, the other negative is the co-workers that can easily help you justify why you need this bike.

I was riding a 2002 Gary Fisher Tassajara that I picked up off of Craigslist.  It was a decent bike but it was a little big for me.  I was talked into listing the bike on Craigslist and picking up a new bike off of closeout.  I didn’t really think the Tass would sell as fast as it did.  I listed it at 10:00pm on a Saturday night and it was sold by 10:00am the next day.

The bike I am now riding is a Trek Marlin Single Speed.  I really like it just for the plain simplicity of it.  I was worried about using a single speed for a race.  I took it for two rides this past weekend, one on some single track that is fast smooth and flowing and another that was more technical with rock gardens and some climbs.  The bike did quite well on both trails.  Riding a 29er makes it so much easier to attack obstacles as opposed to a 26 inch mountain bike.    The gearing is 32×20 and is pretty good for this area.  There are not a lot of huge climbs.  I may be changing to a 32×16 for the race since the Lawrence River Trails are fairly flat and fast.  The only drawbacks to this bike are the brakes and the fork.  It comes with some Tektro mechanical disc brakes.  These do O.K. at stopping but are a pain to adjust and seem rather cheap.  I will be upgrading to some Avid Elixir 5 Hydraulic Disc brakes.  The fork is also a Pogo stick.  It is super heavy.  It will go soon and be replaced by a beautiful Rock Shox Reba fork.

It really is a sweet bike that has improved my riding.  I really like running a single speed rather than a cassette.  There are no derailleurs to get jacked up on the trail.  I have toyed with converting it to a 1×10 but we will see how that goes.  I am now even more excited about my race this weekend.  This bike should help me tear things up.

As far as training goes I have taken this week pretty easy.  I have been getting in some more rides and doing some short runs just to keep me loose.

Leave a Reply

