Do ugly shoes make you run faster?

The answer would be:  Yes.  It has been a little over a year since I have started running (fairly) regularly.  My current shoes will be getting towards the end of their running life this fall and it was time to throw another pair into the rotation.  I was looking for something lower to the ground, not as bulky, but still providing the stability that I think I need.  I went to Garry Gribble’s on two evenings and tried on a whole slew of shoes.  So naturally I picked the ugliest ones I could find.  The Mizuno Wave Elixir.  It really wasn’t my intention to get shoes that were so flashy but they felt good and were stiffer than many of the others.  (I have found that I don’t like super cushioned shoes, it feels liked I am bouncing along the road).  Hopefully these will carry me through to a decent finish at the Kansas City Half Marathon this October.  It will be my first….I still don’t know why I am doing it.  Now I just need to train more consistently so I wont collapse in the middle.

3 thoughts on “Do ugly shoes make you run faster?

    • Yes, the Ravennas are pretty ugly also 🙂 as long as they are comfortable that is all that matters. I am a fairly moderate overpronator but I wanted something to race in while still providing the stability that I need. I like them alot but the right one gave me some nasty blisters on my Achilles’s after my first four mile run.

Leave a Reply

