Hospital Hill Results

I know for those other runners out there that this technically isn’t very fast for a 5K.  For instance my buddy Sam who ran with me and did less training killed it at 21:36.  But I am happy with my time.  It was a minute slower than I ran it last year but this was my first race in my Vibram Five Fingers.  I must say that I was initially worried at the before hand.  The farthest I have made it before this was 2.8 miles with no hills.  I am sure that the adrenaline of the race helped me get through.  This is definitely not a fast course just take a look at this elevation profile:

Running this in my VFF’s was great.  I can say one thing for sure I hammered these hills better than I ever did in regular shoes.  Since you strike mid/fore foot you can power up hills like nobody’s business.  Unfortunately going downhill wasn’t so easy.  I couldn’t over stride and let gravity do its work.  Towards the end I was getting the hang of it and should do better at my next race.

My goal right now is to work up to a half-marathon by October.  I am not sure if that is pushing too hard or not with this transition to the VFF’s.  In August I am planning on running the North Face Endurance Challenge 10K to gauge where my training is at.  I also wonder if I should train in Nike Free’s for longer races such as a half or full marathon in the future.

25:49
Distance 5K
Clock Time 29:06
Chip Time 25:49
Overall Place 185 / 2001
Gender Place 152 / 726
Division Place 22 / 104
Divtotal 104
Sextotal 728
Pace 8:19
Leave a Reply

