The Transition Begins

I stopped by Garry Gribbles Running Sports to get sized for some Vibram Five Fingers.  I can say that initially they do feel as weird as the look but once you get used to them they feel pretty nice. I have been doing a lot of reading about other people’s experiences with them and must say that there are few people out there that have had a bad experience with these shoes.  

I was able to get out for a brief run to test them out.  Immediately I had to correct my running form.  One thing I noticed is that I did not heel strike as much as I thought.  I ran about 1/3 of a mile and could definitely feel my calves and ankle muscles being worked more than they have been in a long time, in fact I can still feel them as I am typing this.  

I am optimistic as to the effect these will have on my running.  I look forward to conditioning my legs so I can get back up to my mileage.  Maybe, just maybe, I will shoot for the Half-Marathon in October.

Leave a Reply

